PM Modi to lead reconstituted Interstate Council, Interior Minister Amit Shah to chair


New Delhi: The Center issued a notification on Monday stating that “The Center has reconstituted the Interstate Council, which works to promote cooperative federalism.”

The Council will be headed by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, the Council will include the Chief Ministers of the 28 States and UTs with a Legislature, the Trustees of the UTs without a Legislature, six Union Ministers and 10 Union Ministers as permanent guests.

Formed to create a strong institutional framework to promote and support cooperative federalism, the Council assists the Center and the states in eliminating differences in politics and governance.

The standing committee will have ongoing consultations and address issues regarding Center-State relations before they are taken up by the Interstate Council.

The notification states that the Union ministers who will be members of the reconstituted council are Amit Shah (Home), Nirmala Sitharaman (Finance), Rajnath Singh (Defence) and Narendra Singh Tomar (Minister of Agriculture and Welfare). Farmers, Rural Development and Development). Panchayati Raj).

Thaawar Chand Gehlot (Minister of Social Justice and Empowerment) and Hardeep Singh Puri (Minister of State (Independent Charge) Ministry of Housing and Urban Affairs)

The other guests on the board are Nitin Gadkari (Minister of Road Transport and Highways), Ram Vilas Paswan (Minister of Consumer Affairs, Food and Public Distribution), Ravi Shankar Prasad (Minister of Law and Justice, Harmsimrat Kaur Badal (Minister of Agribusiness), Subrahmanyam Jaishankar (Minister of External Affairs), Ramesh Pokhriyal (Minister of HRD), Arjun Munda (Minister of Tribal Affairs), Piyush Goyal, Dharmendra Pradhan, Pralhad Joshi, Ashwini Vaishnav, Gajendra Singh Shekhawat, Kiren Rijiju and Bhupender Yadav are part of the interstate council according to the notification.


Comments are closed.